Which Electric Vehicles Qualify for Federal Tax Credits?

The Treasury Department on Thursday published a partial list of new electric and plug-in hybrid cars that will qualify for tax credits of up to $7,500. The list is expected to be updated over the coming days and weeks.

The credits will apply to sedans that cost no more than $55,000 and sport utility vehicles and pickup trucks that cost up to $80,000. In addition, only buyers who earn less than $150,000 a year as an individual or $300,000 a year as a couple can claim the credits.

The list could change in March, when new rules take effect that require automakers to use battery raw materials and components from North America or a trade ally. Those rules are still being formulated, and it’s not clear exactly when they will start to apply.

Here are the cars on the list, by automaker:


Ford Motor

  • Ford Escape Plug-in Hybrid

  • Ford E-Transit

  • Ford F-150 Lightning

  • Ford Mustang Mach-E

  • Lincoln Aviator Grand Touring plug-in hybrid

  • Lincoln Corsair Grand Touring plug-in hybrid




  • Chrysler Pacifica plug-in hybrid

  • Jeep Wrangler 4xe plug-in hybrid

  • Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe plug-in hybrid




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *